50 mile ultra plans

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Jasonkriegelstein
    Participant

I’m signing up for a couple of 50 mile ultras this year.  I’ve used your marathon plan, and enjoyed it.

I’ve seen a lot of ultra plans that include back to back long runs, ex: 20 miles Saturday and 20 miles Sunday.  I like this idea.

Do your 50 mile plans include back to back long runs?  I don’t see it on the sample week.

I’m also debating between beginner and intermediate. I’ve never done this distance before, have completed two 50k’s.  I read the description and guide, just not sure which I really should sign up for.

coachanne
    Keymaster

Jason,

Congratulations on tackling this distance!   Our Level 0 plan for this distance peaks at 8 hours of run time; however, there are several weeks where you’ll hit over 6 and 7 hours of running throughout the week.  The cumulative run time through the week follows our 80/20 intensity balance to get you through training successfully!

If you are newer to running and this distance, you may want to look at the Level 0 plan.  If you are an experienced runner and have more time to commit to the training, you can look at Level 1 or above.

Hope this helps! Happy training!

Coach Anne

• This reply was modified 5 months ago by coachanne.
    Jasonkriegelstein
    Participant

thanks, I’m excited about tackling the longer runs as well.

do the plans include any back to back long runs? Or just one lone run per week?

coachanne
    Keymaster

The plans do consistent of days of running back to back which builds cumulative mileage for the week and is based on the 80/20 intensity balance.