Resetting a plan that’s got messy

Tagged: 

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #20169
    dougie
    Participant

    One of the most useful features of the plans are being able to drag-and-drop workouts in TP. This has allowed me to adapt my schedule to unexpected life events. However, as I get to 10 weeks out on IM and the workouts are getting juicy and specific, I’m realising that I’m forgetting where I’ve put things. e.g. I may move a long bike ride from one week to the next (or previous) because of holidays or it just fits better, but then I can’t remember if it’s in its original position, or if I’ve moved it, then I might move it again, and suddenly I’m possibly two weeks adrift with an important workout that’s at an increasingly important point in the schedule. I may have inadvertantly turned a Transition Week into a Race Specific week, or some messy mixture of both.

    What I’ve started doing (but too late I think) is putting a date [in brackets] after a workout that I move. So if I drag a CAe35 back a few days I’ll put something like [from 6may] after the title in its new home. This works quite well and stops me accidentally drifting too far with workouts that get moved, then moved again because I’d forgotten I’d already moved them.

    TLDR: If I reset my plan will it reset my workouts back to something sensible without breaking anything? i.e. Cancel then just request the same plan again?

    I’m on the Gold plan so as I understand it, I’d now be able to do this myself. I appreciate I could probably cross-reference my modified plan against the now viewable plans but I feel this might be quite hard work and a simpler tidier solution might be just to hit Reset.

    #20176
    Bstarr
    Participant

    If you’re on a plan that allows you to delete workouts, I’d delete all my remaining workouts and then apply the plan again for the same race date. The correct workouts will then fill in the days from now until race. It will also populate your calendar with a bunch of incomplete dates prior to now but you could either ignore them or delete them. This would leave all or your already completed workouts in place in TP. I believe if you simply delete a plan then apply it again it will delete all of the previous workouts you’ve completed.

    #20177
    dougie
    Participant

    “I believe if you simply delete a plan then apply it again it will delete all of the previous workouts you’ve completed.”

    ah, ok, thanks. That’s what I’m worried about. It sounds a bit unpredictable. I think I might just keep calm and carry on as I am!

    #20179
    Bstarr
    Participant

    Dougie

    Turns out I was incorrect.

    I tried a delete with two of my older maintenance plans.

    In both cases, after deleting the plan, workouts that I had completed in Training Peaks stayed on my calendar. TSS scores were still calculated on the right of the calendar. Only workouts that weren’t completed and transferred to TP got deleted. It’s actually a nice way to clean up your calendar.

    That being the case, it appears you could simply delete your plan, previously logged workouts will remain with incomplete ones deleted then start a new plan based on your race finish date. This would populate the remainder of your calendar with the correct workout schedule.

    • This reply was modified 11 months, 3 weeks ago by Bstarr.
    #20183
    dougie
    Participant

    That’s perfect. I’ve just done it. And it was actually a useful thing to do as it made me look at the plans either side of the one I’m on, and refresh my memory of the structure of the plan (Plan Overview). Very useful. And as you say, it’s a nice wat to clean up the calendar. Thanks.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
Posted in

dougie

You must be logged in to create new topics and to reply to topics.